h1

Library of data for testing “robustness” of Rahmstorf models

September 5, 2012

This is part 3.5 of a multi-part series about “Testing the robustness of semi-empirical sea level projections,” Rahmstorf, et. al., Climate Dynamics, 2011. You can see an index of all parts here. I frequently refer to this paper as R2011.

I have finally published my small library of temperature, sea-level and sea-level modifier (reservoir storage, groundwater depletion, etc.)  data from various sources.

All of these data files have a consistent format which can be read by my code that calculates fit parameters for the Rahmstorf model relating sea level to temperature.  However, not all of the time series are long enough to be useful in that model.

You can see the data files here.

I am open to suggestions for additions to this list.  If you have any criticisms of the files, such as accuracy of the data, format, selection, anything – please leave a comment.  I will give due attention to any legitimate criticism that is aimed at improving the data.

Coming soon…

I am a slow worker, but I try to be thorough.

The first output from my code, using Rahmstorf’s preferred inputs (GISS temperature, Church and White 2006 sea level data, and the Chao reservoir correction) will be presented soon.  The goal of that presentation will be two-fold: to verify that of my model implementation are consistent with Rahmstorfs; to have a simple format for presenting those result.  That format can then be applied to the results of other input data.

One comment

  1. In comparing datasets I’ve collected and your list, the only one you are missing is Jevrejeva 2006. GMSL monthly data 1807-2002.

    Ref: Jevrejeva, S., A. Grinsted, J. C. Moore, and S. Holgate (2006),
    “Nonlinear trends and multiyear cycles in sea level records”, J. Geophys. Res., 111, C09012,
    doi:10.1029/2005JC003229.

    PMSL info page: http://www.psmsl.org/products/reconstructions/jevrejevaetal2006.php

    direct link to data: http://www.psmsl.org/products/reconstructions/gslJC2006.txt



Leave a comment